Macquarie 50th
Anniversary Award

Finalists announced

Watch finalist video

Meet the finalists

We’re proud to announce the top 12 finalists of the Macquarie 50th Anniversary Award. The proposals put forward from these 12 non-profit organisations were selected from close to 1,000 applications that we received globally. Of our finalists, five winners will each receive $A10 million in funding to deliver projects that seek to initiate or build on a bold idea that addresses an area of social need.

Winners will be announced in August 2019.


Bookshare: a globally accessible library for people with reading barriers

Cerebral Palsy Alliance

The next generation of Remarkable™: a thriving global disability tech market

FREO2 University of Melbourne

Saving the lives of children with pneumonia

Girl Effect

Educating girls in India through a transformational mobile platform

Human Rights Watch

Powering human rights through technology: a tech incubator

Last Mile Health

Scaling community health programs in Africa to save lives

L V Prasad Eye Institute

Strengthening comprehensive eye health services for children in India

Monash University

The World Mosquito Program: protecting 100 million people by 2023

Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

World Scabies Elimination Program

Royal Far West

Delivering developmental and mental health services to Australia’s country kids

Social Finance

Pay for Success: mobilising capital to drive social progress

The Ocean Cleanup

Cleaning up the ocean’s plastic pollution

The judging process

  • A rigorous multi-stage judging process has been conducted to select the top 12 finalists. At every stage of the process, the assessment criteria for the Award has been based on the Award objectives as stated in the ‘About the Award’ section below.
  • All applications were reviewed and assessed by members of the Macquarie Group Foundation team and in-depth due diligence was conducted by external consultants on the semi-finalists. This due diligence included desktop research, as well as interviews with applicants, referees and subject matter experts.
  • Four regional judging panels made up of nominated Macquarie staff members with community involvement, reviewed and assessed the top 60 semi-finalist applications, selecting the top 12 finalists.

What happens next?

Finalist organisations will participate in site visits conducted by the Macquarie Group Foundation team, who will prepare reports for the final judging panel, made up of the Macquarie Group Foundation Committee. The Committee will review and assess the 12 finalists and select the Award winners.

Winners will be announced in August 2019.

About the Award

Macquarie’s 50th Anniversary Award will be shared by approximately five organisations globally, with funding to be delivered over a period of five years.

Award objectives:

  • to build on an eligible organisation’s ability to address an area of social need
  • to encourage eligible organisations to be bold in their thinking about how to address social needs
  • to support excellence in the implementation of these bold ideas
  • to publicly promote the selected organisations’ work and inspire continuing best practice within the social sector.
Read the Award FAQs

Application criteria and eligibility1

Applicant organisations need to meet the following criteria:

  • must be a registered non-profit within the applicable country and have audited financial statements and a board of directors
  • must have a current annual operating budget of minimum $A4 million
  • must demonstrate that it has been in operation for a minimum of three years
  • must be able to provide evidence or data to support the expected outcomes of their proposed project (either the organisation’s own data if a project is already underway, or research done elsewhere if a new project is proposed)
  • the proposed project must be delivered within five years upon receipt of funds or demonstrate a strong ongoing sustainability model following the five-year funding period. Funds will be released according to an agreed project timeline.

1 This Award excludes applications requesting funding for research, capital (endowment) campaigns, sporting organisations, schools or religious institutions set up for the purposes of religious teaching.

Macquarie 50th Anniversary Award

Supporting the communities in which we live and work has been an important part of Macquarie’s activities since our inception in 1969. In that time, our people have devoted thousands of hours to work with non-profit organisations around the world and contributed more than $A360 million to drive social change at the local community level.

We are delighted to mark our 50th anniversary by extending this tradition with a further $A50 million commitment. It is expected to be awarded to five non-profit organisations ($A10 million each) over a five-year period to fund projects globally that will have a lasting community benefit.  

Macquarie Group Foundation

The Macquarie Group Foundation is the philanthropic arm of Macquarie Group, a global diversified financial group. The Foundation provides support to hundreds of community organisations globally each year through financial support, volunteering and skills sharing.

Find out more